Loseley Park is an increasingly popular film venue: It has the following attributes:
•Within easy reach of London and M25
• Loseley House is a fine example of Elizabethan architecture with royal connections. It was built in 1562 by Sir William More and visited by Queen Elizabeth 1
• Most of the building stone came from the Cistercian Waverley Abbey, near Farnham. This contributes to its mellow appearance.
• The Great Hall is the centerpiece of the House and contains many fine works of art, furniture from the 17th century and unique features such as the paneling from Henry VIII’s Nonsuch Palace which is less than a quarter of an inch thick. There is also a magnificent chalk fireplace. The carving on the Minstrel’s Gallery is by Grinling Gibbons.
• The library in the corridor to the West of the Great Hall was one of the first to be created by an English gentleman.
• The Drawing Room at the end of the corridor contains a gilded ceiling and a superb and unique chimneypiece carved out of a solid block of chalk. Such intricate work to a Holbein design would have demanded great skill from a wood carver, but in chalk it is a fantastic achievement.
Page 1. Click for page 2/2